les mémoires Lyonnaises! Part 1

I was thinking about writing something about my last experience in Lyon. How I got there? Well, i received a scholarship for 5 months in Lyon, France. At first to be honest I wasn’t very very excited about Lyon, I would have wanted England, maybe Spain as I could speak both of those languages way better that French. In the end I thought that any cultural experience is welcome, either it is English, Spanish or a French one.

I left Romania on the 28th of September 2011, and I was never as excited as then, in my whole life, maybe when I visited England in 2009, but not even then.

I landed on Beauvais airport in Paris and I was lucky enough to be with someone I knew, in the plane, who did me the great favour and take me to Gare de Lyon so I can take the TGV from there, considering my luggage got broken during the flight and transport from plane to airport. So, I finally got to the TGV, quite a new system for me, but more more organized. I liked it.

Image

It took us 2hrs to get to Lyon, 464 km in 2 hrs OMG. I knew it was fast, but that fast??? Wow, you couldn’t even feel how fast it was nor see any details while looking at the window.

Image

Lucky again I have a friend that lives in Lyon so her mum waited for me at the Gare Part-Dieu and she helped me with my bags and with directions, I would have been lost without her. We met with Smaranda (my friend) at Bellecour (which is the biggest square in Lyon, right in central area and it is amazing. They have lots of festivals and events going on there.) We took the bus from there the C20/C20E – direction Francheville Taffignon/Findez and prayed to God we’d eventually get where we had to. Our target was to get to St. Irenee where my residence was. Oh, new home. Residence Universitaire Andre Allix, sur la colline de St. Just

Image

We struggled a bit with the bags, as it is on a hill and we had to drag them all the way up, it was hot and I was tired. More, I had to register, get the keys of my room and eventually find some place to live until I got  the residence id (carte de résident). I stayed at Smaranda’s for a couple of days as I didn’t have a pillow or a blanket or anything really to use at the residence.

After a couple of days of hanging out and visiting stuff, getting used to the bus schedule, people, etc I got to my school, L’ecole nationale superieure des Beaux Arts de Lyon. And trust me, IT IS BIG.

Image

Image

I couldn’t wait for the festival of Light (Fête des lumières)

Through this festival  France expresses gratitude toward Mary, mother of Jesus on December 8 of each year. This uniquely Lyonnaise tradition dictates that every house place candles along the outsides of all the windows to produce a spectacular effect throughout the streets. With over 4 million tourists coming to Lyon for this event, the festival includes other activities based on light and usually lasts 4 days, with the peak of activity occurring on the 8th. The three main focal points of activity are typically the Basilica of Fourvière which is lit up in different colours, and the Place des Terreaux, which hosts a different light show each year and Vieux Lyon the square at the bottom of Fourvière.

ImageImageImageImageImage

Image1ImageImageImageImage

So many people!!!!

 

to be continued…

Leave a Reply

